There will be 10 stations on the line

“The Biryulyovskaya line of the Moscow Metro, being 21 km long, will accommodate ten stations, with three them functioning as the transfer stations,” said Andrey Bochkarev, Deputy Mayor of Moscow on Urban Planning and Construction.

Mosinzhproekt Engineering Holding is a general designer and general contractor to construct the new lines and stations of the Moscow metro.

“The Biryulyovskaya metro line will be 21 km long, it will accommodate ten stations. The design of the pre-project and main stages at the section from the ZIL station to the Klenovy Bulvar station is currently in progress. Competitive procedures are being undertaken as well in order to appoint the contractors”, said Andrey Bochkarev.

According to the Deputy Mayor, the line under development will have stations tentatively named ZIL, Ostrov Mechty, Klenovy Bulvar, Batyunino, Moskvorechye, Kavkazsky Bulvar, Khlebnaya, Lipetskaya, Zagorye and Biryulyovo.

“Provisionally, it is scheduled to complete construction of the Biryulyovskaya line by the end of 2026″, specified Andrey Bochkarev.

As per Yuri Kravtsov, General Director of Mosinzhproekt JSC, the Biryulyovo electric depot and two connecting lines to the depot and the Zamoskvoretskaya line will also be built in the framework of this project.

“The to-be-built Ostrov Mechty station will have a transfer to the operating Tekhnopark station on the green line. Besides, two transfers will be built to the lines under development: from the Klenovy Bulvar station to the Big Circle Line, and from the ZIL station to the Troitskaya line”, added Yuri Kravtsov.

The Head of the Holding reminded that the architectural appearance of the stations of Ostrov Mechty and Zagorye will be selected in the course of the launched open architectural competition held with the support of the Moscow Government and Sergey Kuznetsov, Chief Architect of Moscow, and organized by Mosinzhproekt Group of Companies.

Commissioning of the Biryulyovskaya line will improve transport services in the south and south-east of Moscow. The radial line will go through seven districts: Danilovsky, Nagatinsky Zaton, Moskvorechye-Saburovo, Tsaritsyno, Biryulyovo Zapadnoye, Biryulyovo Vostochnoye, and Pechatniki.

In the course of the past 10 years, with involvement of Mosinzhproekt, more than 125 km of metro lines, 61 metro stations, and 11 electric depots were built and commissioned in Moscow.